19 October, 2017 15:09

On 12 October, John Smith, Chairman, welcomed over 160 members to the Society’s fifteenth Annual General Meeting. Following the AGM, John resigned after five years serving the Committee, and Pamela Scott was elected Chairman. Stephen Knott was elected Hon. Treasurer and Diane Ball Hon. Secretary. Halina Heyworth, Pat Crisp and James Moore resigned from the Committee but agreed to continue to assist with Tours and Audio Visual.

Michael Howard gave a fascinating lecture entitled “The Consolidation of Movement: the Sculpture of Edgar Degas and Auguste Rodin”.

Members were encouraged to ensure they had renewed their membership of the Society for 2018. Bookings commenced for the Festive Supper (7 December – evening) when we will hear all about Mrs Beeton’s Christmas.

Our next meeting is on 9 November when we welcome Richard Willoughby, whose lecture is entitled “Basingstoke and its Contribution to World Culture”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright The Arts Society Walton, 2017
Canaletto (Giovanni Antonio Canal), A View of Walton Bridge, 1754, by permission of the trustees of Dulwich Picture Gallery, London